Come by the Graduate Student Life Lounge for coffee and granola bars to learn about and show your support of these important issues!

Lobbying your State Representatives

Graduate Students should email (or call!) their State Representatives to show their support of these issues that affect the UMD Graduate Student body.

  1. Recognizing the need for graduate students to be considered employees.; and,
  2. Recognizing that graduate students deserve the right to unionize; and,
  3. Allowing graduate students both on external and internal fellowships the right to access state employee health insurance without the need to subsidize it with additional fellowships 

Email or call about one or all of the issues. Just get involved!  We will have computers ready for you to send your emails to your representative! For assistance or to ask questions please come to the GSL lounge!  It is Free Coffee Thursday in the lounge and granola bars will be provided by the GSG 9:30 AM to 4 PM.

Don’t know your Representative? Visit this website: http://mdelect.net/.  Type in your address and click on one of the state delegates that are your representatives for your district.  Their email is listed below and just send off one of our pre-set typed emails or send one of your own to help support the Graduate Student Government on Lobby Day! 

Lobbying the University of Maryland Graduate Council

The following table contains email addresses of Graduate Council members for various programs. Feel free to use one of our pre-set typed emails or send one of your own to help support the Mutual Expectation Agreements (MEA) initiative. You can find out more information about the MEA initiative on our current initiatives page.

Graduate Council 2015-2016

Name

College

Program

Email

Alex Chen, Ph.D.

Graduate School

Associate Dean

achen@umd.edu

Arthur Popper, Ph.D.

CMNS

Senior Faculty Advisor, STEM

apopper@umd.edu

Charles Delwiche, Ph.D.

CMNS

Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics

delwiche@umd.edu

Gerald Wilkinson, Ph.D.

CMNS

Biology

wilkinso@umd.edu

Hugh Bruck, Ph.D.

ENGR

Mechanical Engineering

bruck@umd.edu

Jeffrey Franke

Graduate School

Assistant Dean, Chief of Staff

jfranke@umd.edu

Jeffrey Lucas, Ph.D.

BSOS

Sociology

Jlucas2@umd.edu

Jennifer King Rice, Ph.D.

EDUC

College of Education

jkr@umd.edu

Leigh Smiley

ARHU

Theatre and Performing Arts

lsmiley@umd.edu

Lucy Dalglish

Council of Deans

Dean, JOUR

dalglish@umd.edu

Mark Shayman, Ph.D.

Graduate School

Associate Dean

shayman@umd.edu

Ping Wang, Ph.D.

CLIS/ischool

Information Sciences

pwang@umd.edu

Rick Kohn, Ph.D.

AGNR

Animal and Avian Sciences

rkohn@umd.edu

Rob Sprinkle, Ph.D.

PUAF

Public Policy

sprinkle@umd.edu

Sally Simpson, Ph.D.

BSOS

Senior Faculty Advisor, Social Science

ssimpson@umd.edu

Yang Tao, Ph.D.

ENGR

Bioengineering

ytao@umd.edu

Contact Information of College Deans

College

Dean Name

Email

Phone Number

College of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Craig Beyrouty

beyrouty@umd.edu

301-405-2072

College of Architecture, Planning, and Preservation

David Cronrath

cronrath@umd.edu

(301) 405-9421

College of Arts and Humanities

Bonnie Thornton Dill

btdill@umd.edu

301-405-0949

College of Behavioral and Social Sciences

Gregory F. Ball

gball@umd.edu

301 405 1691

Robert H. Smith School of Business

Alexander J. Triantis

atriantis@rhsmith.umd.edu

301-405-2246

College of Computer, Mathematical, and Natural Sciences

Jayanth R. Banavar

banavar@umd.edu

301 405 2316

College of Education

Donna L. Wiseman

dlwise@umd.edu

(301) 405-2336

A. James Clark School of Engineering

Darryll Pines

pines@umd.edu

(301) 405-8335

The Graduate School

Charles A. Caramello

ccaramel@umd.edu

301 405 0358

Phillip Merrill College of Journalism

Lucy Dalglish

dalglish@umd.edu

301 405 8806

College of Information Studies

Brian Butler

bsbutler@umd.edu

301 405 2036

School of Public Health

Jane E. Clark

jeclark@umd.edu

301 405 2452

School of Public Policy

Robert Orr

rorr@umd.edu

301 405 6330