About Us


About GSG


The Graduate Student Government (GSG) is the official representative body for graduate students at the University of Maryland, College Park and is charged with securing and protecting the welfare, rights, and interests of all graduate students at this institution. GSG formulates policies promoting and governing the activities and welfare of graduate students, and advises the Associate Provost for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Graduate School, Senior Vice President for Student Affairs and Provost, the Graduate Council, the University Senate, the President of the University, the Maryland General Assembly, and any other relevant agency or organization on the graduate student viewpoint concerning all matters affecting graduate students.

(Constitution of the Graduate Student Government, Preamble and Article 1)


GSG is responsible for the allocation of the Student Activity Fee paid by graduate students and represents graduate student interests for all other Mandatory Fees.


GSG has monthly General Assembly Meetings, which are open to all graduate students.


Contact Info:

Website: www.gsg.umd.edu

Email: gsg-office@umd.edu

Facebook: @gsg.umd

Twitter: @GSGUMD


Officers (2018 - 2019) 

All executive positions are open for nominations during the general election in the spring. Each VP is expected to work approximately five hours per week for the GSG. For this work, they receive an honoraria of $1,334 per semester. Attendance of the Assembly is mandatory for all executives. If three Assembly meetings are missed, they are automatically cited with a Charge Of Neglect and the Assembly votes on impeachment.


GSG President

Annie Rappeport


Academic Affairs

Binbin Peng


Community Development

Casey Cavanaugh


Diversity & Inclusion

Monica Morell 


Financial Affairs

Devin Scott


Government Affairs

Rachel Lamb


Legislative Affairs

Roozbeh Bahkshi


Public Relations

Shawna Dias


Student Affairs

Xu Han


For a list of officer descriptions, please visit the Officer Descriptions page.

GSG Staff
Director of Operations - Morgan Wiggan 

Chief of Staff -  Jane Lyons


Representatives (2018 - 2019) 

Every fee-paying graduate student at the University of Maryland is a member of Graduate Student Government. A smaller number of students, called Program Representatives, convene monthly as an Assembly to discuss issues which require collective action. Anyone can attend these open meetings, but only the Representatives can vote on the resolutions and amendments presented. We follow parliamentary procedure in the Assembly to ensure democratic and reasonably efficient operations.

To learn more about the responsibilities and duties of a Program Representative, please visit our Representative Responsibilities page. 

For a full list of programs with open seats, please click here.
Bilal Ali ARCH - Community Planning
Emma Schrantz ARHP
Laura Abbasi-Lemon ARHU - Women's Studies
Haleigh Eppler BISI
Sai Prabhath Kollimaria BMAN
Harsh Doshi BMGT
Vaibhav Dubey BMGT
Shivangi Fnu BMGT
Liya Zhang BMGT
Bhavesh Lalwani BMGT
Sunil Chockalingam BMGT
Tanvi Lohani BMGT
Alexander "Alec" Dennis BPHD
Valerie Hall BSOS - ANTH
Simon Sheaff BSOS - GVPT
Laura McBride CHEM
Jane Lyons Chief of Staff
Ellen Buckley CMNS - AOSC
Teal Dillion CMNS - Astronomy
Tahseen Rabbani CMNS - Math
Matthew Dellatorre CMNS - Math
Neill Warrington CMNS - Physics
Roozbeh Yousefzadeh CMSC
Yehuda Katz CMSC
Katie Brown COMM
Morgan Wiggan Director of Operations
Lauren Healy EDUC - Student Affairs
Aria Shahverdi ENEE
Hilary Dimig ENGR - Bioengineering
Deviprasath Naidu ENGR - ENTS
Sujitha Rajan ENGR - ENTS
Sai Nishant Laxman ENGR - ENTS
Qiang Bai ENGR - MSE
Shivang Patel ENGR - OAEE
Himanshu Singhal ENGR - OAEE
Ruben Acevedo ENME
Amin Aria ENRE
Aditi "Addie" Dubey ENTM
Sharan Erukulia ENTS
Shy Porter FMSC
Hannah Younes GEOG
MacGregor Obergfell HIED
Alexander Dunphy HIST
Vaishnavi K. S. Vel INFM
Rishi Jain

INFO - College of Information Studies

Monalisa Swami

INFO - Information Management

Teresa Lewandowski INFO - MLIS
Aaron Doliana LING
Jessica Gleason MCHS
Hilina Tarekegn MPGS
Felix Bartsch NACS
Jake Steen PHIL
Liz Friedman PHYS
Zachary Eldredge PHYS
Jing Liang PLCY
Martin Sanders PLCY
Mathew Feehan PLCY
Syed Jawaid PMCY
Hannah Kleman SOCY
Q-mars Haeri THPF

Governing Documents

The governing documents of the GSG are the Constitution and the Bylaws. Changes to the constitution require a referendum that goes out to the graduate student population in which at least 500 students vote. Bylaws, on the other hand, can be changed by a two-thirds majority in the GSG Assembly. Click on the following links to download the documents: